“Happiness is as Happiness Does”- are you cultivating Happy?

“Happiness is as Happiness Does”- are you cultivating Happy?

happiness
Happiness is as Happiness Does

I am currently readingĀ The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. It came very serendipitously. I was actually looking for a different book of hers, but it was not available at my local library. I picked this up by chance to tide me over. I am so glad that I did! In this book Gretchen chronicles her one year journey on becoming happier. She has a different theme every month and shares how she breaks each month into action steps. But more than just a plan, Gretchen talks about how most of us would consider ourselves happy, but when we really examine ourselves, we could be happier.

That is so me! I am happy, I would say. I am so blessed! I am so grateful.. I really do not have any legitimate complaints. But I am irritable and sometimes a real drag. Why??!? I am not practicing happy. What am I cultivating? Am I focusing on the positive or the negative. Take a quick look at your Facebook feed.. what do you see.. Once you get past all the mlms, most of mine is people complaining. I am guilty of complaining I think more than I am of complimenting, or just noticing the good. I know I unfortunately do this with my kids and husband. How easy it is to tell them what they did wrong. It should be just as easy to praise them.

So my quote.. Happiness is as happiness does. Happiness does not just happen. You have to pursue happy. I am not talking make more money, look different, fake it. I am saying notice the little things. Gratitude plays a big dividends to your happiness. When you are thinking about nagging or chastising.. can you think of something good to point out instead. This is one are that I need work on.

Do you actively pursue things that make you happy? Have you let those little nuances that make you YOU fall to the wayside? I know that if I have something to create I am happier. I need projects to let my creative juices flow.. even if it is just rearranging a cupboard. Work these things back into your schedule.

Let’s quit picking each other apart. Let’s start affirming each other. Let’s practice habits that make us happier. If you haven’t read Gretchen’s book yet, I highly recommend it. Here is to actively striving to be happier.

 

Leave a comment